Eddye Gallagher letter

Student Publications

Tarrant County College

828 W. Harwood Road

Hurst, TX  76054

March 29, 2012

Dear Selection Committee:

It is an honor to recommend Gayle Reaves-King for a fellowship at the Mayborn School of Journalism. I met Gayle about seven years ago when I was invited to join the board of directors for the Fort Worth Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Before that time I knew Gayle only as the editor of The Fort Worth Weekly, an alternative publication that my husband and I enjoyed reading together over coffee each Friday evening. And, of course, I know her as the editor of a paper that was attacking my employer (rightfully so).

Since then, she has become a good friend, SPJ mentor, sounding board, guest speaker for my students at Tarrant County College and continues to be an outstanding journalist and role model for pros and students.

Gayle’s wit and intelligence show in her writing, in her editing and in her work with other journalists. If Gayle says it is so, it must be — although I have to admit I’m more conservative politically than she. I cannot imagine anyone more worthy of receiving a fellowship than a former Pulitzer Prize winner who continues in her profession, never backs down on her beliefs and in her search for news and facts and remains a down-to-earth dedicated professional, friend and mentor.

Whether researching for the next cover story, leading a professional organization or helping young journalists learn the news business, Gayle gives 100 percent. She would be a great fellow in either research or in the classroom. She is honest, blunt, straightforward in her advice but right on and caring.

As a UNT master’s graduate, I would be proud to say she received a degree from the same school as I. And if in the classroom, she would be a strong voice of reality and a person who could offer clear guidance.

Sincerely,

Eddye Gallagher

Director, TCC Student Publications

Leave a Reply

